Editorial Board

The following scholars and academics have provided feedback, advice and written content for African American Communities, for which we are very grateful:


Clarissa Myrick-Harris, Ph.D.

Dean, Division of Humanities and Social Sciences

Professor, African-American Studies, Morehouse College, Atlanta


Davarian L. Baldwin, Ph.D.

Paul E. Raether Distinguished Professor of American Studies

Trinity College, Hartford, Connecticut


Jennifer Scott

Director at Jane Addams Hull-House Museum, University of Illinois, Chicago


Kenneth R. Janken, Ph.D.

Professor of African American and Diaspora Studies, Adjunct Professor of History, and Director of the Center for the Study of the American South, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill


Priscilla A. Dowden-White, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of History, University of Missouri- St. Louis


Tomiko Brown-Nagin, Ph.D.

Daniel P.S. Paul Professor of Constitutional Law

Professor of History, Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Harvard University

Co-Director, Program in Law and History